Express and Explore Yourself

Friday, April 6, 2012

Women in Media Awards calls for nominations

The closing date for nominations is 30 April.

The 1st for Women Insurance Women in The Media Awards, now celebrating a decade of existence, has called for nominations for the rising star and lifetime achiever awards respectively. 1st for Women Insurance and The Media magazine will later announce the process for voting for the main prize winner – that is, the '2012 Women in The Media Award'. 

Past 'rising stars' have included Mandy Wiener, author and journalist; Nikiwe Bikitsha, journalist and news anchor of eNews; Sbu Mpungose, editor of Bona magazine, Radio 702 presenter Redi Tlhabi, and Siki Mgabadeli, then presenter on CNBC. The Lifetime Achiever Award has recognised Kate Turkington, Barbara Ludman, Gwen Gill, Joyce Sikhakhane, Barbara Cooke and Jane Raphaely.

Nomination forms for the Rising Star and Lifetime Achiever awards are available on under the Women in The Media Awards tab. “The awards have grown in stature and importance over the years. We acknowledge and celebrate women’s role across the media spectrum, from journalists, researcher, and publishers to media agency stars,” said Sandra Gordon, CEO of Wag the Dog Publishers, and founder of the event.

“The Women in the Media Awards seek to recognise exceptional women who have made their mark within the media sphere across commercial and academic fields. It is an honour to be sponsoring the awards for the third year in a row," said Robyn Farrell, CEO of 1st for Women Insurance.

Last year's main prize winner was Phylicia Oppelt. Previous winners have included Debra Patta, Pheladi Gwangwa, Ferial Haffajee and Libby Lloyd. Readers can also access the nomination page A banner ad will link you to the process. The closing date for nominations is 30 April.


Post a Comment